CoLearn Conference 2018

The inaugural coLearn Conference occurred in June 2018 with tremendous success. Participants remarked on the hands-on nature of the workshops, the availability of numerous resources for community-based learning, and the exchange of ideas with like-minded educators. Check out the conference highlights below.

Featured Speakers

Will Richardson
Co-founder of and author of Freedom to Learn

Tim Fish
Chief Innovation Officer, National Association of Independent Schools

John Gulla
Executive Director, Edward E. Ford Foundation

Vanessa German
Local artist, performer, and activist

Session Highlights

  • An in-depth overview of the City as Our Campus program, its implementation and evolution, and faculty and student experiences.
  • Presentations from five visiting schools about their own versions of community-based learning programs.
  • Discussion regarding a three-phase research study on City as Our Campus with the Learning Research and Development Center at University of Pittsburgh.
  • Hands-on, experiential learning opportunities in the community that included urban design challenges, writing tours, private access to museums, and much more.
  • Networking and collaboration opportunities with over 70 like-minded educators representing 30 schools from 18 states plus Washington, D.C. and Canada.

Thank you to the following schools for attending coLearn Conference 2018!

Catholic Memorial School (Massachusetts)
EAB (Washington, DC)
Episcopal High School (Virgina)
Fredericksburg Academy (Virgina)
Friends School of Baltimore (Maryland)
Friends Select School (Pennsylvania)
The Downtown School: A Lakeside School (Washington)
The Elisabeth Morrow School (New Jersey)
Graland Country Day School (Colorado)
Gulliver Academy (Florida)
Head-Royce School (California)
Heathwood Hall Episcopal School (South Carolina)
The Hill School (Pennsylvania)
Kent Denver School (Colorado)
Kingsway College School (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
Metairie Park Country Day School (Louisiana)
Mount Vernon Presbyterian School (Georgia)
Orchard House School (Virginia)
Park Tudor School (Indiana)
Saint Mary’s School (North Carolina)
Sanford School (Delaware)
Spruce Street School (Washington)
Stuart Hall School (Virgina)
Tower Hill School (Delaware)
University School of Indiana (Indiana)
Wakefield School (Virginia)
Waterford School (Utah)
The Wheeler School (Rhode Island)
Worcester Academy (Massachusetts)
World Leadership School (Colorado)