News Post

Cum Laude Ceremony Honors 11 Seniors

Congratulations to seniors Lucy Chen, Jacob Dubner, Emmanuel Jacob (EJ) Eppinger, Sabrina Evoy, Nathaniel Hull, William Lee-Moore, Nathan Lovett-Genovese, Roshni Nischal, Ella Rosenblatt, Isabel Slaymaker, and Jack Waters, who were inducted into the Cum Laude Society on April 28, 2017. To be eligible for membership in the Cum Laude Society, students must be in the top 20% of their class academically and exhibit commendable character.

The WT community celebrated the inductees in an Upper School community-wide ceremony featuring remarks from Head of School Gary Niels, Director of College Counseling Pam Pratt-Galik, and the inductee-selected keynote speaker, science teacher Dr. Lynn Horton.

"We are here today to congratulate our Cum Laude recipients, as well as all of our students who strive for scholastic excellence and personal integrity," said Head of School Gary Niels in his opening remarks. He highlighted the importance of learning and character growth at WT, and noted the value of the Cum Laude Society's criteria for outstanding academic performance together with good character.

Director of College Counseling Pam Pratt-Galik noted, "Here at WT, we encourage every person to feel a thrill of inspiration which, along with dedication, skill, and knowledge, leads to excellence."

Science teacher Dr. Lynn Horton focused on the idea of an "idealized representation of something" in her address. She highlighted the human tendency to "ignore the work and dedication behind the success" of outstanding achievements. Using examples of scientist Louis Pasteur, who developed the vaccine for rabies later in life after he'd been partially paralyzed by a stroke, and even her own life as model, Horton encouraged each inductee: "Prepare yourself for luck by educating yourself for the chances to come." She also stressed the importance of knowing one's own intellectual limits, and turning to other experts when those limits are reached.

The Cum Laude Society was founded in 1906 and is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools.